Review: The Five Stages of Falling in Love by Rachel Higginson
The Fives Stages of Falling in Love
Book Info

Released: January 27th 2015
Length: 8 hrs and 8 mins
Pages: 305

Recommended Read!

“There is no hot romance here, this is a slow burn of the best kind.  It’s a beautiful romance, pure and simple.”
~ Under the Covers

From the first page (or first few minutes, since I was listening) I knew this would be an emotional read.  Not an ugly cry book, but emotional nonetheless.  I shed a few tears there and then along the way.  And I was along for this ride with the heroine as she had to pick up the pieces of her life after her husband died and she found herself alone with her four children.

This book is told on the basis of the five stages of grief.  Denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance.  I think the author did a great job at weaving that into our heroines daily life and showing us how she was reacting at different stages.  Getting to acceptance isn’t easy.  Dealing with what’s left behind isn’t easy.  But it’s even harder to let yourself feel that love again, open your heart up again.

From early on Liz meets Ben.  He moves into the house next to hers a few months after her husband passed away.  He’s first a friend and solid support through the times when she needed to crumble.  I honestly can’t think of a hero more perfect than Ben.  The love, patience and understanding he shows is truly beautiful.

There is no hot romance here, this is a slow burn of the best kind.  It’s a beautiful romance, pure and simple.  Because this is more than just Liz’s second chance at love.  It’s mostly her story about how she got there.  And I loved that, because while the romance is always there and it’s an integral and important part of this story, it’s never in your face when it shouldn’t be.  Ben is resilient and perseveres.  And Liz has to deal with herself first before she can open herself up to him.

This is the second book I read by this author and I know I won’t let this much time go by before I dig more into her backlist.  Her voice is raw and honest in a way that sucks you in and all you want to do is settle in and read the whole thing.  Addicting.  I can’t wait to read more.





About Rachel Higginson

Rachel Higginson is the best-selling author of The Opposite of You, The Five Stages of Falling in Love, Every Wrong Reason, Bet on Us and The Star-Crossed Series. She was born and raised in Nebraska, and spent her college years traveling the world. She fell in love with Eastern Europe, Paris, Indian Food and the beautiful beaches of Sri Lanka, but came back home to marry her high school sweetheart. Now she spends her days writing stories and raising five amazing kids.


What did you think of our review?
Let us know your thoughts in the comment box below!


 ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 
Follow Under the Covers: Facebook | Twitter | Tsu | GoodReads | Email 

Follow me


  1. Wow this sounds like a really good read. I’m interested to see how the author incorporates the stages of grief with the romance. Aaaand I totally want to meet Ben!

  2. I’ve seen this book on sale before and almost bought it but held back because you never know what you are going to get with these types of books. Next time it goes on sale, I’ll have to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *