Cowboy Take Me Away leaves me with only one question….why does it have to end?! ~ Under the Covers

Cowboy Take Me Away is the last book in the Rough Riders series and Lorelei James has brought the series full circle by telling the tale of Carson and Carolyn McKay, the fountain from which (most) the sexy McKay cowboys have sprung. If you have read the Rough Riders series, then the prospect of seeing and mummy and daddy McKay getting together may not excite…and this is where you would be so very very wrong, right here we have the original McKay bad boy and the woman strong enough to take him on.

Cowboy Take Me Away takes the flashback route to showing you Carolyn and Carson’s relationship, giving you their past and their present. It was all very poignant, I admit that I shed a few tears, I don’t think Carson and Carolyn’s devotion for one another has really come through in the previous books, but even thinking now, a few days after reading the book, about their marriage and love for one another brings a lump to my throat. You just know that one could never be without the other and this book demonstrated this really well.

Of course, it wouldn’t be a Lorelei James book if we didn’t have some crazy hot sex and I wasn’t disappointed! Mummy and Daddy McKay definitely have the moves and I was getting all hot and bothered reading about them. What surprised me was how sassy and bold sweet Carolyn West McKay was and one of the hottest scenes in the book was when she told him exactly who he belonged to, I loved the role reversal.

She inched closer to him. “Remember that the next time floozies are sniffing around you. remember who fucked you outside a bar. Remember who sucked you off in her car. Remember that you’ll never find a woman who gives you what I do in and out of bed. Remember you’re mine and I take are of what’s mine.”

But this book didn’t just show you how they got to together, it showed the good times in their marriage and the not so good, showing you the life they lived, rather than just happy memories and sex. It also gave you a different perspective on the conflicts that they had with their kids, the heroes from the beginning of the series, which was fascinating to read. We also got stop in visits from some old favourites from the beginning of the series, which gave you a chance to have an update and a goodbye from all the characters.

I loved this book, it was an emotional read that had me laughing, crying and panting for more, Lorelei James has really finished this series on a high note and Cowboy Take Me Away leaves me with only one question….why does it have to end?!

*ARC provided by publisher

Long-Hard-RideBook 1 Rode-Hard, Put-Up-WetBook 2 Cowgirl-Up and RideBook 3 Tied-Up, Tied-DownBook 4
Rough, Raw, and ReadyBook 5 Branded-asTroubleBook 6 Strong Silent TypeBook 6.5 Shoulda-Been-a-CowboyBook 7
All-Jacked-UpBook 8 Raising-KaneBook 9 Slow RideBook 9.5 Cowgirls-Don't-CryBook 10
Chasin'-EightBook 11 Cowboy-CasanovaBook 12 Kissin'-TellBook 13 Gone-CountryBook 14
Book 14.5 redneck-romeoBook 15 Book 16

Long Hard Ride: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | GoodReads | Our Review
Rode Hard, Put Up Wet: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | GoodReads | Our Review
Cowgirl Up and Ride: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | GoodReads | Our Review
Tied Up, Tied Down: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | GoodReads | Our Review
Rough, Raw and Ready: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | GoodReads | Our Review
Branded As Trouble: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | GoodReads | Our Review
Strong, Silent Type: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | GoodReads
Shoulda Been A Cowboy: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | GoodReads | Our Review
All Jacked Up: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | GoodReads | Our Review
Raising Kane: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | GoodReads | Our Review
Slow Ride: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | GoodReads
Cowgirls Don’t Cry: Amazon | Barnes & Noble GoodReads | Our Review
Chasin’ Eight: Amazon | Barnes & Noble GoodReads | Our Review
Cowboy Casanova: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | GoodReads | Our Review
Kissin’ Tell: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | GoodReads | Our Review
Gone Country: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | GoodReads | Our Review
Short Rides: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | GoodReads | Our Review
Redneck Rodeo: Amazon | Barnes & Noble GoodReads | Our Review
Cowboy Take Me Away: Amazon | Barnes & Noble GoodReads


[about-author author=”Lorelei James”]


What did you think of our review?
Let us know your thoughts in the comment box below!

❤ ♡ Don’t want to miss any more posts? Subscribe to this blog by email! ♡ 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


  1. I completely agree! Although I am very sad to see this series end I am glad it went out on a very, very high note. It is probably the best in the series! In fact it made me want to go back and reread the series. If only I didn’t have sooo many other books I want to read too. I have no doubt I will read this series again from start to finish and love them every bit as much the second time through!

  2. I started reading erotic romance books with Long Hard Ride and had this series on auto-buy. I haven’t started this book yet but I am looking forward to it. Thanks for the review.